Oh no... bad eye owie on young animal

Help Support CattleToday:

glacierridge

Reaction score
Bad day at the farm...
Young critter that my brother wanted to try to keep for clean up after AI somehow got his eye injured. Brother told me the lid was dangling, he didn't feel confident in trying to get something that delicate stiched without the animal twitching, so he cut off the part that was dangling.
Has anyone had an eye injury in an animal that was pretty severe and was able to keep them around??
I'll have to help him load another animal for beef in the morning to go to the butcher so I can get and post pics then.
Brother would still like to keep him, even if he may lose the eye. But is infection going to be a constant worry or just a temporary one?

Have an eye injury won't effect his breeding service as long as you keep the infection under control. But I have some experiences with blind cattle or cattle with one working eye that they can be a little spooky/nutty if you startled them.

It sounds like it is the eyelid torn. They heal very well around the eye as it has a very good blood supply. Infection is not usually an issue because of the good blood supply though can be a bit messy for a while. The function of the eyelid in spreading tears and wiping the eye will be compromised though it is surprising how things remodel and often end up not as bad as you think.
Ken

The guy directly across the road from my farm had the same thing happen about 2 years ago. The vet did just what your brother did. He cut off the hanging eyelid. The cow did fine.

Glad to hear both those. I was worried about the risk of constant infection. Sounds like that he should heal into a halfway decent state.
Now I gotta go to the farm this morning and see how terrible it looks...
It'll probably make him look tougher than he is.
Hope he'll be alright until it's all healed.

IMG_20130919_074137_zpsb37b55d3.jpg

IMG_20130919_082128_zpsd7ae3d02.jpg

I think it looks pretty gruesome in person.