Nurse Cows

Help Support CattleToday:

MinneFarmer

Reaction score
I am looking into maybe getting into Nurse Cows. My family had dairy cows (Holsteins) when I was a child so I have some experience with cows. We also have a stanchion style barn that I would use.

Okay my first question is how long do you keep calves on cow? I know that some will wean themselves eventually but I would want to wean them off after about nine months or two months prior to nurse cow calving? (assuming it gets breed first time it starts coming into heat after calving) When I wean them then what? Do you guys sell them right then or continue raising them? If so what do you feed them?

What breed of nurse cow would you suggest? What type of adopted nurse calves?

Bottom line is there any money in this? It would not be my primary income just something to supplement my crop income.

I will definitely have follow up questions :D

I've just weaned 2 holstien bull calves off of a good Jersey cow she did great with them and took them almost immediately. They weighed 232 pounds at 12 or 13 weeks so I thought I did pretty good with them my first time in. My advice for you would be sure you keep the cow fed good as those calves will take alot out of her.

As to weather I came out ahead I came out a little to the good but not much (probably 30 to 50 dollars) but I fed mine about 100 pounds of feed a week.

Keep them on the nurse cow 3 months. Get them started on feed as quick as you can. Wean them to feed then cycle another 4 calves onto the nurse cow.

Your goal is to keep the cost at $1 a day, per calf, pro-rated. That includes feed going in to the cow.