Lump size of softball... Please help

Help Support CattleToday:

hicky214

Reaction score
Im a Newbie well I was down feeding the cows just now and I have one real sweet cow that loves a good neck rub. My girlfriend was rubbing her and asked "whats that"? Well she has a lump on the right side of her neck probably big as a soft ball. Its hard and doesn't seem to bother her. I pushed on it multiple times etc. If she turns her head the opposite way it stretches out and doesn't look to big. But if she is looking straight at me I can see it but mainly when she turns to her right it seems like it bunches up and gets much bigger. Any thoughts??? I don't think she has had this but cant rule it out she pretty new to me and she just had a nice heifer calve.She eats like a hog and all seems fine. It just worries me. Any help would be great. I called my vet but she is out of town.
Thanks again.

No vet did shots between the ribs. I really don't want another vet bill but my cow comes first. I will get her here if need be.

Have you had her long? It could be an access from a shot given some time ago.

I am the curious type and would puncture it with a hyperemic needle and see if anything drained out.
I have seen lumps like that go way, have seen some rupture and drain.

I have had her roughly two months I have never felt it I rub her daily she comes right up for her rubbing everyday. But again my girlfriend found it it might have been there and me being me never paid any attention its kinda far back on her neck near her body. I don't usually rub her there. Think I can get away with trying to pull a fluid from it without having to head gate her? Or will that go over like a lead ballon?

If it's as big as you say you should be able to take a 18GA needle and pop it in it while You are rubbing her.