Know about Angus? I guess you do Sir!

Help Support CattleToday:

Ricker

Reaction score
As I mentioned in my opening post the other day, I am a land developer and investor by trade. I am in the process of putting some cattle on some of my land holdings.

For the last few weeks I have been talking on the phone with a man about some land he has for sale in N. Georgia. A very nice, polite gentleman it seemed.

Today when he called me to continue our discussions on some of his land I am thinking of buying, I mentioned to him that I was meeting my cow hand soon to finalize some preparations to deliver some black cows I am purchasing by private treaty. He said "Rick, as I told you the other day, I know a thing or two about Angus Cattle." "When you come up to GA next week, I will show you around the operations here."

I did a search on Google tonight with these key words: Virgil Lovell - Georgia - Angus. I guess Mr Lovell is right. He might know a thing or two about Angus Cattle!!!

Below is the link to a website but here is an excerpt from it:

In December 1990, the world lost one of its most influential leaders and dedicated Angus breeders with the death of Dr. Armand Hammer. The Ankony herd was to remain intact as Virgil Lovell, a Georgia cattleman-businessman, stepped forward and fulfilled a boyhood dream of "some day owning Ankony." He not only purchased the Ankony herd but also the name, trademarks and the Minatare Ranch facilities. It would be hard to have picked a buyer to carry on the great Ankony name with more enthusiasm and respect than Virgil Lovell.

Mr. Lovell achieved his desire to own Ankony, and even more. . .he re-acquired his much admired and his favorite sire, Lovana.