JUST NEW ,WANT MORE INFO, IF YOU CAN HELP

Help Support CattleToday:

nlouise04

Reaction score
:santa: IM NEW TO OWNING A COW AND NEED TO KNOW AS MUCH AS I CAN TO KEEP MY HERFER HAPPY AND HEALTHY.SO IF YOU CAN HELP,I WOULD BE SO GREATFUL.. NEED INPUT ....LOL.... OK LET ME TELL YOU WHAT I HAVE , A HERFER BULL ALMOST 1 YEAR OLD ,JAN 6TH HE WILL BE 1.... HE IS A BIT OVER 600 LBS,, ONLY OWN HIM SENCE SANDY THE STORM AND AT THAT TIME HE WAD 550 LBS,,HE HAS GAIN WEIGHT,AND HAS A BIT OF A HAY TYPE BELLY ,,I THINK IM OVER FEEDIN HIM ,WAS FEEDING HIM ABOUT 5LBS OF SWEET FEED ,2 TIMES A DAY :???: AND ALL THE HAY AND PASTURE HE WANTS....IM TOLD HE DONT NEED THAT AND I KNOW ITS TO BE 2.5% OF BODY WEIGHT. BUT DIDNT KNOW OF WHAT HAY? PASTURE? FEED? HE HAS ABOUT 63 AC.OF PASTURE TO USE FOR THE WINTER,SO CAN I STILL GIVE HIM ABOUT 1 LB OF SWEET FEED A DAY AS A TREAT? OR EVERY OTHER DAY? HE HAS A MINERAL BLOCK AND ALL THE WATER HE CAN DRINK THROU OUT THE DAY ,,CAN I DO ANYTHING MORE FOR HIS HEALTH ?

:welcome: from New York,
There is nothing wrong with you feeding him 5# of grain 2x a day.
If he seems to have more bellie than anything else - he may need to be dewormed. If you have not already dewormed him, that is where I would start to help keep him healthy.
I would deworm him with Valbazen which is a white liquid that you put down his throat (you can use a syringe). And/or you can use a pour-on dewormer. Do you have neighbors with cattle? You might be able to buy enough for one dose for your animal from a neighbor.
Is he actually still a BULL - not a castrated bull? Are you raising him for meat for your freezer?
Edit: BTW - it's considered rude /shouting - when you use "ALL CAPS". :banana:

For a Hereford bull (at least I think that's what he is by the way you spelled it--"Herfer") 600 lbs is a bit light for a bull almost a year old. He will definitely need the extra grain to get his weight up over the winter.