How to get angus ready for butcher

Help Support CattleToday:

GoodValley

Reaction score
Hi,

Would greatly appreciate advice. I'm a newbie farmer, got involved with angus nearly 3 years ago. I plan to sell three of my five angus as soon as possible.

Here's what I got now: 1 mother 5 years old, 1 heifer about 3 years old (tried insemination twice, did not stick), two steer (twins) born 14 months ago, 1 heifer born last month. Total 5.

I have a few acres for my cows and it may not be enough land to keep them fed. The twin steer drive us crazy, they constantly escape through electric fence, the other cows show no interest in escaping. I am not sure if it's due to hunger or they just like to escape for the fun of it.

I want to get the 3 year old heifer ready to sell, she is very large and healthy. The twin steer are 14 months old, and look like they could grow a bit more because they're not as big as the heifer. Nonetheless I am fed up with their escaping, they have to go.

I trapped the two steer in the barn, approx 12' x 12'. I can easily feed them water and carry to them grain and alfalfa. I would rather not let them out.

I heard that if you pen angus in a small area and feed them a lot, they will fatten up which makes them ideal for butchering.

What do you suggest in terms of getting them ready for the butcher? What to feed, how much, etc?

I have frontage on a busy road and I'm quite sure that if I put a sign out on the back of my old Chevy pickup "All Natural Black Angus" etc, within just a day or so I can find locals in the area to buy half a cow or more. People here love natural grass fed beef, fetching high prices, and I'm in an area where there is basically zero competition (nobody is a farmer anymore here, we have condos and stores, the odd horse, that's about it). I want to make sure I get the cows ready properly though, and I'll arrange the butcher. What do you suggest I might charge for the cows?

Thanks for any advice!