Hey Hereford Folks....

Help Support CattleToday:

bball

Reaction score
Im not too good with epds. Been looking at these 2 bulls. Will be used for terminal calfs, but in case end up with a nice heifer that might like for a replacement..i know cant have it all, but any thoughts appreciated.

Epd. Bull1. Bull2

CED. -0.9 -0.1
BW. 4.6 4.0
WW. 51 50
YW. 81 77
Milk. 24 20
M&G. 50 45
Calv eas mat. 0.4 -1.7
Mat cow wt. 87 82
Udder. 1.16 1.14
Teat. 1.14 1.16
Scrot circ. 1.0 0.8
Ribeye. 0.55 0.32
Marbling. 0.14 0.07
BMI indx. $19 $17
CEZindx. $14 $13
Bll indx. $18 $15
CHB indx. $26 $23

Thanks again for any inputs.

Sorrybfor the jumble...it was all nicely spaced when i entered it...first numbers are for bull#1, next numbrrs for 2..

Still lots of info missing with those EPD's. Mainly missing is the accuracy ratings/percentages. EPD's tend to change, a lot on young bulls. Also what kind of cattle are you going to use the bulls on? Bull #2 seems to be the easier calving bull but #2 has slightly better growth and carcass traits, which seems to go along with larger birth weights much of the time. I can't recommend which bull for you to use, for me I tend to go toward an easy birth and healthy calf on the ground rather than a hard pull and weak new born...... Especially as I get older. Any chance of getting the Bulls names or pedigree.

Assuming the accuracy of the EPD's are similar as well, not much difference in the numbers of the two bulls.