Herford Sired Calves

Help Support CattleToday:

Lon

Reaction score
Let me start by saying i have no experience with herdord. Now my father in law bought some heifers bred to low birthweight herford bulls. I am watching them for him. So far 6 calves hit the ground without losing one yet but have pulled 4 out of the 6. In my opinion they seem to have short legs and big heads for their body. the head is right on the hoof everytime coming out. The one today i cant get over how big of head it had. Is this common for herford sired calves or was it just the bull they were bred to?

i would blame it on the bull i have a few herford cows and they have small heads but ocasionally i see one with a large head i think it was more common 20 or 30 years ago though. i think the herford breed has come a long way since the 70's as far as meat and refinement go there was a time when you could not give me a herford bull but today i am looking into adding a herford to my angus cows David

Lon":149xfk76 said:
Let me start by saying i have no experience with herdord. Now my father in law bought some heifers bred to low birthweight herford bulls. I am watching them for him. So far 6 calves hit the ground without losing one yet but have pulled 4 out of the 6. In my opinion they seem to have short legs and big heads for their body. the head is right on the hoof everytime coming out. The one today i cant get over how big of head it had. Is this common for herford sired calves or was it just the bull they were bred to?

How do you know when you " have to pull em?" Thanks in advance.

How about a picture of the calves.

Kingfisher we only help is when the cow or heifer is in hard labor, pushing for all she's worth and the head will not pass. To me that means their rear end lifts completely off the ground during a contraction and has been doing it for quite some time. Cow is panting hard and she is no longer pushing during a contraction. I watch the side and I can see the contraction.