Gelbvieh/Balancer Bulls

Help Support CattleToday:

wtrapp

Reaction score
Good morning to everyone. This is my first time posting a topic. I currently have a 20 head herd of registered Angus and registered Hereford cattle running a registered Hereford bull with the herd. My black baldy calves averaged about 15 pounds heavier than the straight Herefords due to the crossbred hybrid vigor. I've been considering using a black Gelbvieh/Balancer bull to produce black/black baldy calves. I would like your opinion of the Gelbvieh breed both good and bad. Thanks

That would be a good choice. Don't know where you are from, you may have trouble finding one in your area.
Good luck.
CMS

I have a balancer bull. First calves should be on the ground in February so I'll let you know how they do. I researched it for a long time before settling on the Gelbvieh influenced bull. I bought homo polled and homo black. I really like the way he has come along on grass and hay. The Gelbvieh puts on allot of muscle.

HOSS":3n8zv9cv said:
I have a balancer bull. First calves should be on the ground in February so I'll let you know how they do. I researched it for a long time before settling on the Gelbvieh influenced bull. I bought homo polled and homo black. I really like the way he has come along on grass and hay. The Gelbvieh puts on allot of muscle.

Thanks for your input. I'm located in Middle Tennessee and would like to hear how your calves turn out. Please give me your thoughts on disposition of the breed. I work my cattle by myself and don't want anything with an attitude.

CSM":39e1uoha said:
That would be a good choice. Don't know where you are from, you may have trouble finding one in your area.
Good luck.
CMS

I'm located in Middle Tennessee and thanks for your input.

i have several gelbx cows and i love them. i am using hereford bulls and have the same plan use gelb on the heifers. because i have seen how well they turn out. good choice.

jcarkie":2pasefec said: