Finishing or feeding a yearling steer

Help Support CattleToday:

steer new

Reaction score
Hello! So I am completely new to cattle so this might seem rudimentary. :?:
I am getting an around 600lb angus steer that is approximately a year old. I will have him for 10 months and need to get him between 1350-1550lbs. It was suggested that I put him on a finisher, but I don't know in what daily portion I should feed him :help: . Someone told me to start him with alfalfa for 3 days then introduce a pound of sweet feed and increase the portion of feed by 1 pound daily until at around 25lbs of feed is being given a day (while still giving him alfalfa). I've also tried to google and research such, but the answers I get are conflicting and, frankly, confusing :?: Can anyone tell me if the formerly mention feeding plan sounds appropriate or provide a different feeding plan?
:tiphat:
I hope you are all having a wonderful day!!! Thank you!

That doesn't sound too bad of a plan. If it works for you great. Don't feed the steer a completely different diet without giving it time to get used to the new amounts of protein.

steer new":2pvo9087 said:
I am getting an around 600lb angus steer that is approximately a year old. I will have him for 10 months and need to get him between 1350-1550lbs. It was suggested that I put him on a finisher, but I don't know in what daily portion I should feed him :help: . Someone told me to start him with alfalfa for 3 days then introduce a pound of sweet feed and increase the portion of feed by 1 pound daily until at around 25lbs of feed is being given a day (while still giving him alfalfa). I've also tried to google and research such, but the answers I get are conflicting and, frankly, confusing :?: Can anyone tell me if the formerly mention feeding plan sounds appropriate or provide a different feeding plan?