Fair price for registered RA heifer?

Help Support CattleToday:

2/B or not 2/B

Reaction score
I'm considering purchasing a 6 mo. old weaned red angus heifer, but I only want to do so if I'm getting a nice deal since I'll have to keep her all the way through next year when she's old enough to breed. I visited her yesterday and saw her dam, a very nice looking 8 year old cow. I've looked at sire and dam's EPD's and they're within the range I'm looking for. The heifer is good looking too, has some muscle, but also very feminine and balanced. I haven't shopped for registered females before so I'm still learning. Price is $700. Can someone tell me what price range is normal?

if she's what your looking for, has the EPD's conformation and such - i'd go for it- but $700 would be plenty. the last sale in our area, good 615 wt. commercial heifers were bringing $1.03/lb or $633/hd.
I'd be sure that the seller covered any costs required for her registration, and that her vaccinations are all up to date including calf-hood. additionally, if you can get the seller to provide delivery thats all the better.

Good luck
ROB

Some will sell higher and others lower depending on the bloodlines. But 700 is a fair price.

Thank you. Yes, vaccinations, registration and delivery will be included, with the exception of Bang's which I'll take care of later when I have a group and can justify the vet's fee for a ranch visit. Her bloodlines are out of McPhees, a CA breeder. To me, $700 is a lot to pay for one calf, so I thought I'd ask.

2/B or not 2/B":14vwc1i7 said:
Thank you. Yes, vaccinations, registration and delivery will be included, with the exception of Bang's which I'll take care of later when I have a group and can justify the vet's fee for a ranch visit. Her bloodlines are out of McPhees, a CA breeder. To me, $700 is a lot to pay for one calf, so I thought I'd ask.