Embarrassing Milk Production

Help Support CattleToday:

farm_dog

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to dairying, having began milking cows two years ago. Here's my situation:

- I milk 10 pure Jerseys
- Each calved beween Oct 1 and Nov 30; half of the herd calved for the first time
- For the past two years I have fed only grass from our pasture and our hay at winter for a few months. Nothing else, ever.
- I don't plant annuals so the cows have been making what milk they could on perennial pasture.
- We milk once per day only and sell raw milk
- We've been averaging 1.25 gallons/day/cow, which I'm sure makes me a laughing stock

All that said, I decided to to a month long experiment supplementing with grain, since it seems clear that I'm asking too much of my girls. A week ago I began feeding 7 lbs/day/each 10% sweet feed, but have yet to see a milk increase. They go through the feed fast and I'm sure would eat twice that amount if I let them, but it's just throwing money away if it doesn't make milk. I realized they probably need more protein so yesterday I began feeding 16% Dari Gold from Southern States at the same amount. They've had two feedings so far and they still have free choice hay, but milk volume is unchanged.

I dream of getting 3-4 gallons/day like others talk about, but I'd even be happy with 2, as long as it's cost effective. Since we're too small for a nutritionist, etc., any recommendations on what/how I should be feeding to get decent milk production?

Thanks in advance for your ideas.