Dehorning hole

Help Support CattleToday:

cowkeeper

Reaction score
Yearling heifer vet dehorned 3 wekks ago. Kept in because of flies the let out as all looked good and dry but hole had not started to fill in. She was done at the time, and redone, with a pour-on systemic wormer and sprayed with blu spray. Today after a rain there is greyish goop coming out of the hole. Does not smell. Can I flush it out with something and is that a good idea. Thanks

I have very little experience with dehorning larger animals. I do know they can get sinus infections. I would NOT let the animal outdoors until the hole closes. It will fill with water when it rains, and I would "assume" that would be a cause of infection. Also, no matter what you put on her, flies are going to lay eggs IN the hole. :shock:
I would call the vet that did the work. I would "assume" you could flush out the hole with a disinfectant. But, the vet should give you advice over the phone.

it will heal. cows tilt their heads and the fluids run out.its normal for some grayish matter to come out .It will hide up in a few days.If you want put some flyspray that you would use on a horse to repel flies. Years ago we only dehorned after the frost killed the flies due to screw worms. Dont know if Corral smear is still avaliable. I dehorn cattle every winter here.Do it then cause its cooler .

I also do my dehorning in the winter. You can put a big glob of axel grease on the hole and it helps to seal it and keep flies off . it doesn't hurt them to go out side like that . I've dehorned 6 year old cows before. Just grease them up and turn them out .

Stuff a piece of cotton in the hole and swipe some pine tar over it to keep the flies off.

Roadapple":2b6pre4f said:
Stuff a piece of cotton in the hole and swipe some pine tar over it to keep the flies off.