Dead calf

Help Support CattleToday:

danl

Reaction score
I found a 3 week old calf dead at the edge of the pasture this afternoon when I went to check on them.
The whole back end had been eaten off the tail was even gone.
Last night the calf was nursing and running around fine.
I have seen some dogs in the next pasture over recently. But my Brangus cows don't tolerate anything in the field with them.
I'm getting ready to go dog killing if any are around.
Calf's eyes were clear no foam at the mouth or anything so I'm kind of ruling out dying on its own.
Too young for blackleg, I think and legs didn't feel crunchy.
It wasn't tore up anywhere except the backend though which puzzles me. The ground was pretty undisturbed, I'm not too good at reading sign though.
There might be some tooth marks on its neck, not sure.
Any advice before I go off the deep end and kill all the neighbors dogs?
Wasn't shot- pasture is way off of the road and over a hill.
I moved them to another pasture that doesn't have any thickets or woods in it. The one they were in has some thickets I've been cleaning up, and the calves like to go there.
My handicapped ( see wobbly calf post) was laying 100 yards away undisturbed
Dan

OK, I am not ruling out dogs. Without seeing the calf that would be hard to say for sure. But one thing you may want to consider is a perforated ulcer. Usually when you find a healthy (and often one of the best) calves dead for no other apparent reason, that is what the cause was. There is no way to prevent them, and you often won't see the calf sick, you will just find it dead.

http://beef-mag.com/mag/beef_riddle_absomasal_ulcers/

Just something to consider.

Back end eaten out - maybe some bite marks on the neck. One on the neck while the others had fun.

They pulled it down from behind and started eating under the tail - animal was likely still alive as they started enjoying their meal.