Calving cows part II

Help Support CattleToday:

Nicky

Reaction score
Thanks to all who responded,
I've never done this before so be patient. If I'm not supposed to put questions on more than one board, let me know. I didn't think everyone would read every board. But I don't expect more than one response from the same person.
Now, for the more info everyone wanted... This is actually an inquiry for our neighbor who does not have a computer. They have been calving out 50 - 60 registered Angus for the same breeder for 10 years or so. The cows come about a month before calving starts, and leave after the calves are all branded. The owner used to work a full time job in town (as a loan officer for Farm Credit!), and is now retired. He didn't and doesn't have the time or want the responsiblity for calving. He provides the feed, vaccine, and medicine. He pays them $10.00/ton for feeding, and $30.00 for every live calf. They provide all the labor, which includes tagging and weighing the calves. This was the original agreement and has never changed. I think he takes responsibility for all death loss. Our neigbors feel they should be getting more. But none of know of anyone else doing it. So once again, any thoughts are appreciated.
Thanks, Nicky

Other then the managment part of the calving, typical daily care (yardage) runs around $3.75 per head per day in this area and some as high as $6 if it's a short time.

dun

why don't they figure up the time involved & figure what it would cost by the hour. sounds real cheap to me, which is why he beings them every year.

Is it really that bad of a deal? Not including feeding, which for 50 cows @ $10 a ton could add up pretty quick, they are making $1500-$1800 bucks