bulk tank

Help Support CattleToday:

herefordlover

Reaction score
we have a 7 ton bulk thank that now has an auger on it that were going to remodel to have a slide gate for filling buckets. any one have any experince with this and would it be better to have the slide on the bottom of the hopper( i am worried maybe all the weight might make it hard to open) or on the side (wondering about water seaping in).

We've got the same set up. Pulled the auger and replaced it with a slider. It's at the bottom at about a 45 degree angle. It sometimes get s a little stiff to open if you have a lot of fines in the feed.

we are planing one using it for range cubes. dont know forshure what the bottom of this take is like it looks in decent shape but hasnt been used in over 10 years. we have to move it and will go from there might have to build a new one wich i dont think will be to hard since i was a welder.

To switch ours to the slider it was just a matter of removing a dozen bolts and pulling the auger head aside and bolting the replacement in

our will require a little more work as its not going to be a unbolt rebolt type thing. but noting a cut off wheel and a welder cant take care of. this one was made where the auger tube is welded to the boot and the bearing is threw the back.

herefordlover said:
our will require a little more work as its not going to be a unbolt rebolt type thing. but noting a cut off wheel and a welder cant take care of. this one was made where the auger tube is welded to the boot and the bearing is threw the back.[/quot

If it's like a Brock or Pax or Choretime it's got like 8 bolts holding a flange to the boot just like dun was talking about, easy to replace with a slide. Even if you have to replace the boot the last one of those I bought was plastic and only cost about $40.

Larry