Brangus X Hereford Cross

Help Support CattleToday:

K&S Cattle

Reaction score
Hey Cattlemen and Cattle women, I am new to cattle today and have a question for yall. I just bought some Registered Brangus that are bred to Reg. Hereford bulls, and was wondering if there is any market for the bull calves to be used as herd sires? I am going to sell the heifer calves as replacement heifers, but didnt know whether to cut the bull calves or not. I am going to raise one bull calf to put on our crossbred commercial herd just to see and because the come form good genetics.

Thanks,

KMM

:welcome:
I would band them at birth. Too many males are left "bulls" and do not deserve to be. So much easier to sell/finish out a steer. Do you have the facilities to keep a 8 month old bull away from your 8 month old heifers?

Sounds like you got a good start...don't keep any of the Bulls/steers..even the one for your personal use...and your gonna want to keep the best heifers...unless you are-just dead set on It...

The plan is to raise really good Black Baldie heifers to sale. I was fortunate enough to buy some Town Creek bloodline Brangus cows and heifers bred to Whitehawk Beefmaker Hereford bulls for a good price. I plan on going back with a Hereford bull, but was curious of what to do with bull calves. I guess I'll cut them and ship them to the sale barn, I figure they should bring decent money. If they wean what the guy I bought them from calves wean, they should wean in the 550-650 lb range.

I use that cross myself, though on a small scale. I agree with the others about cutting or banding the bull calves, and yes, they should do well at the auction barn. Mine do. Where are you located?

K&S Cattle":1fc4o59n said: