Brangus temperamant

Help Support CattleToday:

Dsteim

Reaction score
Hey guys I bought a brangus heifer about a month ago that I posted a picture of her in the breeds board, and in terms of quality of animal she's the best that I have. I took her and one of my other open heifers to the veterinary hospital yesterday to get them AI'd. I called the vet today to see if I could get a blood test done on one of the other ones as I'm new to this and have been feeding mineral blocks to see if there were any deficiencies, I just switched over to free choice mineral yesterday and I'm going to give that whirl, according to him it wasn't as simple as doing a blood test and some type of liver procedure would have to be done to tell if there were any deficiencies that is something I wouldn't be interested in because it seems too involved, I'll just try throwing the free choice minerals. So we talked on the phone for a while and then he shifted the conversation to my heifers. He said the one I purchased about a month ago is one of the craziest cows he's worked with. He said she charging the people who were trying to get in the chute, and when they let her out she turned around and was trying charge them again. I personally haven't had any issues with her as far as charging, I do know however she is definitely skittish, if I'm within 10 or 15 feet of her and I pour out cubes for my cows she watches me as she eats, if I get too close to her she trots off in the other direction until she is at a comfortable distance. Is this something y'all would sell right away after hearing that? Do y'all think traditional breeding with a bull in the pasture would be a better practice for her so no one involved would get hurt? Is there any chance she'll settle down over time? Also do y'all think it could be due to how they were handling her? I put cubes in my pen that is attached to the corral and chute and backed my trailer up to the chute and just walked along the edge of the pen to get her to g