Beginner questions on keeping Highlands.

Help Support CattleToday:

canoetrpr

Reaction score
Hello:

I am very new to Highlands, cattle, and farming in general.

A bit about myself:

We have a 26 acre farm - about 14 acres are reasonably good quality pasture - timothy, clover etc. The rest is house, barns, pond, woods. The pasture is divided into two paddocks. Back pasture is fenced with wire fence (not sure what else to call it - it is not barbed but stretched tight). The front is fenced with cedar posts and boards (the kind you would see at a horse farm).

Spring is wet around here. Half of the back pasture floods for 2 to three weeks. Very back of the back pasture (maybe 1/2 acre) stays quite wet into the middle of the summer. The rest of it dries out just fine.

Fences are in good repair in general. The board and post fences are practically new.

We have a three sided pole barn along with hay storage and a 5 horse stall barn.

Basically the property is a really nice equestrian property - previous owners had horses and all my neighbours have horses.

We are looking into the prospect of either renting the barn / pastures out to someone who wants to keep their horses there, OR, looking into starting a small hobby herd of Highland cattle.

I have done some research and I quite like the breed. I have several questions that I am hoping some of you might take the time to lend your insight to:

- Does my fence situation sound reasonable for Highlands? I was considering adding one strand of electric particularly around my new board and post fence to ensure that it stayed in good shape. Not sure I need to do this. What do you think?