Beef or dairy

Help Support CattleToday:

edthefarmer

Reaction score
I'm a small farmer, and currently I just cash crop, but I'm looking to maximize the small farm I have (impossible to gain acres in my area). I mean I know there is money to be made at everything in farming. But which is better? Just raising beef cattle to sell when the price is good at the market, or go the dairy route milking cows?

Beef cattle obviously doesn't require all the work (I know its still a lot of work) and cost that goes into milking, but obviously more money can be made in milk on a regular basis then on beef. But which is the better route to go in and stick with?

I'm not looking to get big, to start with I would prefer to just buy young cattle, raise them and go from there. My dad says to just go with beef cattle, cause its less work than milking, but I say more money is to be made in milking. My dad ran the farm for over 30 years milking cows, he sold all his cattle back around 1991, when prices were still crap.

Here is what my goal would be; buy young cattle, start off with 1 or 2, and learn the basics easily and take the process slow to not get in over my head, then slowly buy more young cattle, heifers and so on. Eventually sell some steers for the money when the market is good, and when the time comes that I have enough heifers (around 30+) then get into dairy (over the course of 2-5 years). Not looking to get big, not looking to sell calves as a means of profit either.

So what is your opinion? Which route do you suggest to go in, any tips and experience would be nice. Go with just beef cattle long term? Or beef cattle short term into a dairy farm?

Dairying is quite an investment. You mentioned that your dad had dairy-ed, are those facilities available, what shape are they in? Where are you located? Some states are offering incentives for dairies coming into the state.