Winter boots

Help Support CattleToday:

Ky hills

Reaction score
I've been wearing Muck Boots Artic something or others for a few years. Really like the feel and fit, they keep my feet warm, most days just wear my regular socks.
Problem I'm having is that they don't hold up worth a crap. Lucky to get through a winter before the split at the top of the foot where it bends to go up.
I need water proof material up fairly high on the boot in the mud.
Went winter boot shopping today and came back with another pair of them and also a pair of LaCrosse. Probably going to take one pair back just hate to spend well over $200 in something that won't last long.
What kind do y'all wear that's insulated good and waterproof?

I have used LaCross for probably the last 20 years. Used them today. Air bob soles give good traction in mud. Hold up very good. Get ankle fit and its just like regular boots.

I used to be lucky to get a winter out of Muck boots. I'm in my third winter with my Helly Hansen boots. They are rubber with a removable felt (I guess?) liner. If they give up on me I'll be looking for another pair.

I have friends that swear by Skellerup Quatro boots. I've managed to get enough miles out of my Muck boots I haven't needed to try them yet.

I am on my 3rd winter with my leather muck boots. Tn winter are not that bad. Wish I had bought 2 pair. Cant find them anywhere. Not pretty but I will miss them when they are gone. I use Dryshod when rotating during the other 3 seasons, easy to walk in and a little heavier than muck boots.

Went yesterday and looked for some come home with a pair of Lacrosse Alphaburley with 800g insulation, and a pair of Muck Boot Artic Ice. The muck boots already has a crease right out of the box in the same spot that they have been coming apart for me.
Ain't decided fully yet I like the fit of the mucks better but can't see paying $250 for something if they gonna tear before the winters over.