What sort of pasture do you run?

Help Support CattleToday:

jaydill

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm just a curious college student here.. I showed a bit in high school and (of course) want to start a herd of my own once I graduate. I'm currently an animal science major with a minor in agronomy, though I don't start any agronomy classes until next semester. I'm just curious as to what sorts of grasses/hays y'all run in your pastures, just so that I can get a feel for what is common and why. Thanks in advance!

Jay

Jay, we use a combination of bahia and bermuda hybrids. I'd say the bahia constitutes the majority. Our thinking is that the Tift 9 bahia will provide a longer growing season than the bermudas. Bermudas; Tift 44, Alicia and Tift 85 make up the rest of the grassland. All of these can produce a large amount of forage but in a more confined time period. Hence we hay the surplus.

During the winter months, the fields are overseeded in ryegrass and sometimes clover.

Things are a sight different up here than down where you are, but I'll put in my bit.

Hay:
Timothy
Alfalfa (primarily Common/Flemish)
Smooth bromegrass
Volunteer wheatgrasses (mostly slender and intermediate)
Volunteer White clover

Pasture:
Meadow brome
Kentucky Bluegrass
Slender Wheatgrass
Intermediate Wheatgrass
Quackgrass (primarily volunteer stands)
Volunteer Wild White clover
Crested Wheatgrass (diploidy)
Smooth Brome
Reed Canarygrass (in the sloughs mostly)
Timothy
Russian Wild Rye
Volunteer Meadow Foxtail (cattle hate the stuff)

jay, we have Coastal on droughty, sandy soil. Because that's what my Grandpa put there way back when. It works. And has worked for decades. If I was sprigging a new field, I'd closely investigate Alicia. My hay man says it will cut better than Coastal on sandy soil.