Water Heater for Dummy

Help Support CattleToday:

SteppedInIt

Reaction score
I have had the good fortune of no water heater issues, so I have no experience with them. Looking for some quick help. Lately the water isn't very warm and takes a while to get it at the faucet. This is gas btw. I went out last night to drain it. I turned the water supply to heater off. Hooked up garden hose to valve and opened it up. Nothing. Turned the water supply to heater on, get hot water out of hose. Is this normal?

I let it run out of the hose until the water was cold. It did have some discolored water come out at first but cleared up quickly. I did hear some clunks during the process. The burner seems to be working good. I am wondering if the thermostat is bad or if the whole water heater needs replaced. No leaks and doesn't look very old. We have owned this house for two years so really don't know anything about it.

Any wisdom appreciated.

With no water going in you won;t get any water out. Could be the thermostat or if you have hard water, the tank may be crudded up with minerals. We cleaned ours out last year and got almost 50 lbs of calcium/minerals/crud out of the bottom.

MIne gunks up regularly. First thing I do is change the drain valve to a ball valve. Full port in the ball valve allows larger debris to clear the valve and drain out. With it turned off, I flush it out of this valve for a while.

backhoeboogie":3my3sttj said:
MIne gunks up regularly. First thing I do is change the drain valve to a ball valve. Full port in the ball valve allows larger debris to clear the valve and drain out. With it turned off, I flush it out of this valve for a while.
You're lucky. Ours we had the break stuff lose with a screwdriver and scrape the gunk out. It's electric so we had the hole for the heater element to access the insides.

dun":3rzenb53 said: