Tractor tire chains

Help Support CattleToday:

grubbie

Reaction score
I have a Ford 5000 diesel with loader and grapple. Also has a bale unroller on the back. In winter, I have to pick up a bale on the back before I can pick one up with the grapple. If there is even an inch of snow on the ground, I will just spin once I pick up a bale with the front unless I do that. Now, I have purchased another tractor, this one uses both remotes for the loader, so I have no way to pick up a bale on the back (no squeeze function). I have never used tire chains on a tractor before, and they are expensive. Are they going to be enough, without adding weight to the back? If I still have to add weight, I might as well just rig up a weight for the 3 point and not spend the 450 on chains. The tractor is an AC 185.

I don't think chains are going to do it for you. Your problem is you are getting too light on the back for traction. Adding chains will gain you some traction but you really just need more weight on the back. I think you have a few options. Fill the tires with fluid, hang some steel weights on the wheels, plumb the loader hydraulics into a power beyond block and rig up a joystick control, get a 3 point carrier that doesn't require hydraulics, or get a tractor with mechanical front :cboy: .

Yeah, have already been thinking of re-plumbing the hydraulics for other reasons as well. I make the cows pay for the equipment so I can't afford anything with MFWD. I might just rig up a weight that I can put on the 3 point.

Sounds like you just need to buy a bale spear for the rear that works off the 3pt. Should be only a couple hundred bucks. Water can be a pain, wheel weights or rigging some thing could cost as much as the spear, none will be as useful.

novaman":384nu22u said:
but you really just need more weight on the back. I think you have a few options. Fill the tires with fluid, get a 3 point carrier that doesn't require hydraulics, .