Starting from scratch

Help Support CattleToday:

Double R Ranch

Reaction score
Hello and thanks in advance for the help.
We are a commercial angus breeder with a couple of Registered black angus cows in production. In january I will be going to school for ET and purchased a really nice (in my opinion) heifer from California Angus days a few weeks ago.
"Gidget" 4 M MS Oaklie 906 (AMF-NHF)
Gidgetbody.jpg

100_0247.jpg

Gidgetface.jpg

Sorry the pics aren't great. I am still learning about grooming and standing a cow.
My problems are this. I can't figure out where to go from here.
I have this nice show heifer here which I intend to breed (AI) and have her first calf out of. I want to continue to show her in the mean time in order to get her out and make her worth (as well as offspring) more money. I am having a hard time finding out how to do this without being a youth. Also not wanting to sell her. Is there a way to show her and still be able to breed her but get her out there and show her myself as I don't have any youths to show her? Would it be better to have youth show her offspring at fairs which means a long weight for us and probably a drop in her genetic value as time goes by.
I am also debating as to what to do with the calf first. If a nice heifer I can sell her at California Angus days in December of 2010. If a bull, and a nice one I can sell at World of bulls sale in November 2010. Or I can keep the heifer calf and add her to the herd. Generally we castrate everything male that drops here. We aren't really in the market or have the top genetics to sell bulls. Now we technically due I beleve.
After the first calf is here I intend on using this cow as a flush cow as her genetics seem to be really good. I am still learning the registered angus genetics so bear with me on all this. The intention is to take our heavily culled commercial angus and put embryo's in them to have a crop of registered angus. Then work from there.