spectam scour halt

Help Support CattleToday:

lilfarmgirl

Reaction score
Our three day calf has scours, yellow mixed with some blood. At first it looked okay, pudding like, but then he started going all the time and it would just run out. I called the vet gave him spectam scour halt yesterday. I gave him 10 cc's once a day. I have not given him any today. I noticed he has finally peed this morning. My concern is he didn't poop last night and when I was out there this morning hasn't. His tail goes up and his little but puckers but nothing comes out. Is it the scour halt and he will finally poop or do I have another problem? This is our first bottle feed calf, so I am new to his aspect.

Did the vet also tell you to give the calf electrolytes? If not, then do it NOW, even if you have to tube it!

Just because you can't see the poop doesn't mean the calf hasn't pooped. Sometimes scours are so bad that it comes out like water and you can't see any evidence of it anywhere.

As far as the Spectam is concerned, we always gave 10ccs in the a.m. and 10ccs in the p.m.

This feeding schedule helped us:

Morning: milk replacer mixed with 2 pints less water yet the same amount of milk replacer that you would normally use with 4 pints of water. About an hour to an hour and a half later, give the calf 2 to 3 pints of electrolytes.

Noon: give the calf another 2 to 3 pints of electrolytes.

Afternoon/evening feeding: Same as morning followed with the 2 to 3 pints of electrolytes an hour to an hour and a half later.

Also, give that calf probios at each feeding...and if you don't have probios use yogurt.

***Important thing this minute: Get electrolytes into that calf right now!***

Good luck, Alice