Simmental Bulls

Help Support CattleToday:

I know it's a little off-topic here, but I'm a little curious as to when you feed, Jeanne. A specific time each day or such? I set hay out right before or after dark (but not everyday) and most of our calves come in the morning or mid-day. Most, not all.

cfpinz

Jeanne: My heifers will weigh around 1050-1150 when they calve. They are capable of having 85-95 lb. calves but I don't like taking chances with the first timers. I have never used a Simmental bull before.

Hope things dry off for you and if you get too much moisture send some back our way.

Well, I'm kind of what you would call backwards. I WANT night time calving. Hubby works full time job, so if I have a problem (which is sooo rare) I prefer them to calve at night with him home. He does miss any sleep unless I have to get him up - VERY good sleeper.
He purchased me a camera for Xmas several years ago & we've added 3 more. Receiver handles 4, wireless within 100 feet. I just lay in bed & watch. Never go out unless I think there's a problem.
I fully understand the feeding time for daytime calving. My "close-up" group (within maybe 10-14 days due) has full time baleage, and when they appear "ready", they are put in the barn before dark & turned back out early AM - if no sign of going into labor. In the barn, they only get a flake of hay for the night.
Actually, most of my calves are born in the evening - which is perfect - but during night is just fine with me.

W.B.":22qz190a said:
Jeanne: My heifers will weigh around 1050-1150 when they calve. They are capable of having 85-95 lb. calves but I don't like taking chances with the first timers. I have never used a Simmental bull before.

Hope things dry off for you and if you get too much moisture send some back our way.
Yes, they are plenty big enough - as big as mine.