Show steer and carcass steer questions

Help Support CattleToday:

hillsdown

Reaction score
Ace weighed in at 735 lbs (show steer) and Sal weighed in at 685 lbs on Nov 2nd. They have been on 4H ration for 3 weeks at 11.5 lbs each with really nice free choice second cut hay .

When do we increase the calf starter ration and how much should we bump them up . I was thinking about adding a pound a day until they get to 15 lbs and then keep them on this for another 3 weeks or so .... BUT ????

Suggestions please , thanks :tiphat:

Fwiw ,they are both Gelbvieh calves .

Sorry about the typos etc. should never use my phone to post again ... :oops:

I'm by no means an expert or a wanna be expert on this, never showed or raised a show steer. But I do know from experience a little slower on the grain increase is much better than to fast. It sounds like you have plenty of time to get your show stock finished, so I would take them to 15lbs slower, meaning not rush them. I start a butcher steer, meant to be grained for 90 days at about 2lbs a day and get them to 10 to 12 lbs a day within 70 or 80 days (that's a just an on top of my head guess, on time and approx grain weight, but it should be close). I have had different steers "over load" on grain 3 times in the last 13 years or so. It takes a few days of watching, looking and wanting no disasters for them to come back. Sounds like you have time, my novice opinion is to take it a little slower, maybe a half pound a day until you get to 15lbs a day. You have 8 months of feeding ahead of you.

Just a novice thought,
Alan

The rule of thumb is they should be eating between 2 and 3 percent of their body weight; I would shoot for the middle 2.5. Just work the grain in over a period of time, they are 735 and 685, I would shoot for 18 pounds a day each.
I would add a half pound a feeding every 3 or 4 days until you get him there.