• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Rusting netwire on purpose.

Help Support CattleToday:

M.Magis

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2010
Messages
1,950
Reaction score
45
Location
Cambridge, Ohio
Any sort of acid will work. I use vinegar when trying to rust chain for treestands or traps.
 

Farm Fence Solutions

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
2,008
Reaction score
0
Start with Red Brand and wait a year.
Had a customer recently that wanted rusty posts and wire. Best I could do was raw pipe and concrete remat.
 

kentuckyguy

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
553
Reaction score
33
Soak in white vinegar for a few days. I do it with my new traps so they will rust up a little and take dye.
 

JMJ Farms

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 1, 2015
Messages
4,811
Reaction score
17
Location
Middle Georgia
I would have said throw it in a fire as well. Not an inferno, but a fire. But Dash said it would destroy it and I have no reason to argue with his reasoning.

I’ve rusted galvanized tin with a vat and muratic acid with mixed results. Can’t remember exactly but it had something to do with the fact that I didn’t get all of the protective coating off first in order to get to the galvanized coating.
 

pricefarm

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 7, 2013
Messages
1,569
Reaction score
37
Location
Southwest Va
callmefence":1h62fris said:
Need to make two rolls of galvanized netwire rust. Any ideas.??

No need to rust new wire. I have 1000s of feet of wire already rusted. Just come take it down and replace it with new and it's yours. I'll even pay for the new wire.
 

Nesikep

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
16,135
Reaction score
315
Location
Lillooet, BC, Canada
if you could drag it in sand or something with a quad, that would probably do it

How about finding some used, rusty stuff to begin with?
Edit: I missed PriceFarm's reply
 

Latest posts

Top