Rookie needing advice on feed strategy

Help Support CattleToday:

MadRanchTX

Reaction score
I don't want to turn this into a 'you can't feed through the drought' discussion. I'm aware it is just not cost effective to do so.
I was prepared to sell out and carried half my cows to the sale barn where I got within 2 cents per pound of the very best looking cow I saw 5 cents a pound more then most equivalent looking cows and 15- 20 cents a pound more then the typical looking sale barn cattle. Like I said I'm a rookie but after watching nearly 3000 head of cattle go through the sale and mine being at the very top I've decided to keep my remaining cows. On the other hand being a rookie that could all be BS and I just don't know any better. What I do know it is not just culls going through sales barns right now. So every one has to make a decision and right, wrong, good, bad, whatever that is the decision I've made. Thats the background of the situation on to the meat of it. Out of desperation I found some corn stalk hay at $35 a roll, last year I paid $40 a roll for near horse quality coastal, I also found some decent grass hay at $80 a roll. I have 1/2 and 1/2 and it should last until spring. I know I'm going to have to supplement with cubes or tubs. Initially it looks cheaper to go with cubes, obviously more labor, but other than labor is there another benefit with tubs? Do they also provide minerals? If so that may swing the cost over to tubs. I've seen some negative comments on here about TSC tubs, what is the diferance, an alternative and what to look for? Also should I alternate the hay type or feed all one and then switch. Blast me if you must but I honestly need advice from folks who are experienced, unfortunately I'm learning as I go and don't have any friends or family with this type of experience.
Mark