Retired from the ranch

Help Support CattleToday:

Travlr

Reaction score
Hey... I've owned cattle off and on since I was in junior high. Coast Guard after high school. Went to Utah State where I majored in An SCi with a specialty in beef production. I worked with the Belgian government as a consultant for a short time in importing genetic materials. I had a small ranch in northwest Arkansas where I became something of a cattle dealer by assisting vets in the sale barns, buying cattle to bring home to acclimate in my corral, and then neighbors started showing up to see what I had and would often buy everything before I turned anything out. The ranch in South Dakota 25 miles north of Sturgis was an entirely different kind of operation. I raised grade replacement heifers, mostly, but was doing some experimenting with rebuilding pastures without reseeding. I only owned that ranch for a short time because I put a high price on it expecting to have it listed for years but it sold too quickly. Married hapily for decades, a couple of kids with kids, and I like projects. I've built show cars with my own hands, relatively simple camping trailers, and several buildings. Lots of off-the-ranch jobs and a lot of experiences in nature. I'm environmentally inclined and conservative... but in active avoidance of politics.

Last edited: