Pregnant Cow With Bad Hips

Help Support CattleToday:

aammons610

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to this form. But Im seeking some advice. I manage a small cow calf operation for my company and while I have great knowledge in veterinary medicine and an animal science degree I lean more towards horses. So cattle problems are fairly new to me. I have one cow who is preg. and is about 3 weeks away from calving. However we have noticed her limping for some time( back right leg/ foot). She swings her foot inward when she walks and if you look at her from behind, she is off balance on one side- her hip and flesh sits higher on that side. Overall she looks great, still maintaining weight and She is still coming to get food and is not laying down. But I'm just concerned how much of a problem this is when she has the calf and if we are going to need to put her down after the calf is born. Its def not foot rot. When I get a picture I will post. Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

Cows with hip issues the last month or so of preganancy don;t bother me much. If it continues when she's not arrying a calf THAT bothers me. Could be as simple as the way the calf is laying inside and putting strabge pressures on things that is the cause. "Benign neglect" is called for.

She has a pinched nerve. I have one that does that every year for a couple of weeks before she calves. I have seen her quit limping with feet hanging out of her because the calf moved into the birth canal and got off that nerve.

She should be fine when she calves.

It almost sounds like she's had her hip 'knocked down' at some stage. It's a long time since I've seen a cow like that - I've never owned one - but I believe they carry on all right.
From what I've been told, the cows with just one side of the hip showing have been injured in a crush like the herd jamming her into a gate post or getting caught up somewhere.