Preferred DNA Test --- Zoetis/Pfizer vs. Igenity

Help Support CattleToday:

WalnutCrest

Reaction score
Igenity's Profile
vs.
Zoetis's GeneStar

They both do 'tenderness' ... 'feed efficiency' ... and ... 'marbling'.

From there, Zoetis has a 'palatability index' test that combines tenderness with marbling ... and ... Igenity has a bunch of other things (temperament, maternal traits, etc.) that is added to theirs.

I know there are a variety of +'s and -'s in putting significance in these numbers on a piece of paper ... but ... if you were going to do one test (and not both), which one would you do and why?

Would it matter if you were running something a non-Angus-but-still-pretty-common breed (like Hereford, Charolais, etc.) or a not-very-common breed (like, say, Belted Galloway, Scottish Highlander, etc)?

Thanks.

I've been using the Igenity test for over 6 years. I looked at Gene Star but I found Igenity's scale to be easier to understand and explain to customers. They have also added a lot over the last few years. It is extremely helpful in our marketing of breeding stock.

WalnutCrest":2ej0hc6u said:
Igenity's Profile
vs.
Zoetis's GeneStar

They both do 'tenderness' ... 'feed efficiency' ... and ... 'marbling'.

From there, Zoetis has a 'palatability index' test that combines tenderness with marbling ... and ... Igenity has a bunch of other things (temperament, maternal traits, etc.) that is added to theirs.

I know there are a variety of +'s and -'s in putting significance in these numbers on a piece of paper ... but ... if you were going to do one test (and not both), which one would you do and why?

Would it matter if you were running something a non-Angus-but-still-pretty-common breed (like Hereford, Charolais, etc.) or a not-very-common breed (like, say, Belted Galloway, Scottish Highlander, etc)?

Thanks.