newbie to AI

Help Support CattleToday:

saltbranch

Reaction score
Guys, I am interested in learning more on this. Reading the posts here, there definitely is a lot to learn. Are there any online articles to read to help me get up to speed on this? Is it better to pay someone to do this, or do it yourself. I have worked with cows birthing and having issues, so I am not a total newbie.

saltbranch":1cl9lbjp said:
Guys, I am interested in learning more on this. Reading the posts here, there definitely is a lot to learn. Are there any online articles to read to help me get up to speed on this? Is it better to pay someone to do this, or do it yourself. I have worked with cows birthing and having issues, so I am not a total newbie.

Do a Google search for: cattle AI protocol
You will find a wealth of articles, from semen companies, ag schools etc., comparing and contrasting the various forms of AI (different protocols, schedules, drugs. timed versus natural heats etc).

I have wanted to learn how to do it myself, but for my small herd of a dozen, it just doesn't make sense: the cost of classes, plus travel expenses and time away, is disproportionate to the cost my AI tech charges. Plus, it would take me forever to get as proficient as he is (although as you will see in the AI threads, we have many "lay" people who do their own AI and have good success rates with a bit of practice and dedication).

Good luck!

Saltbranch, first off we don't use AI on our place. But if we did you can believe we'd be doing our own AI work. Depending on someone else to run your business is a bad deal.

Boondocks has good advice, google and you tube, theres lots of information out there.
Depending on number of cows you have? If it's worth doing your own, it can be pricey with tanks, keeping them filled, and all things that go with it, but if its possible for you to get good at it, it is the best way.