New to cattle... Need some pointers..

Help Support CattleToday:

Sniper338

Reaction score
I have land and its all set up on a silver platter for me to get cattle to raise and sell... i want to start off small... 6-15 head... ive been around it all my life... Im not a total newbie... what im looking for is where to start and info on how to figure out/research what breed/s i need to go with... im looking to do more of a meat cow to sell at the auction by pound... my first guess is angus cows and hereford bull... (and my sale barn confirmed that cross is saleing REALLY WELL) but where would i find info to help make a good decision?

Im looking to raise em, then drop em off at the auction to sell.... butcher one for meat here and there...

My land is all located in Texas, Guadelupe county to be exact...

Since you said you're planning to sell your calves at the auction barn, then talking to them, as you've done, is a good idea. I agree with the Hereford bull, but I'd recommend black Brangus cows instead of Angus. They will do better in the heat, and probably raise heavier calves, although Angus breeders may disagree with me.

Rafter S":2wtl7rxo said:
Since you said you're planning to sell your calves at the auction barn, then talking to them, as you've done, is a good idea. I agree with the Hereford bull, but I'd recommend black Brangus cows instead of Angus. They will do better in the heat, and probably raise heavier calves, although Angus breeders may disagree with me.

I agree. Cattlerange.com is a good place to start looking, for cattle, and to get a feel for the market. Most of the people that buy/sell there are real cattle people, as opposed to Craigslist. I would also add that if you do go with a Hereford bull, go polled so you don't have to mess with horns.

My advice is to put up good fences and some type of working area, then go buy your cattle. They are easier to deal with if you can keep them home.

ricebeltrancher":x66e68av said:
Rafter S":x66e68av said: