Need to ask a question

Help Support CattleToday:

cowboy314

Reaction score
I am new to the cattle game, and I mean NEW! :D
I was wondering a couple things. I reacently bought two cow calf pairs, and a 18 month angus bull. I paid $3400 for the lot, and I am in the learning stage now. My first question is when do I start weining my calves, and/or when should I sell.
Next, How does the sale barn process work.
I come from a farming background, but all I have ever done in row crop. My grandpa sold his cows back in the early 80's before I was old enough to learn anything, so here I am trying it myself.

Thats all for now. Thanks :)

A rule of thumb for weaning would be 205 days. Some will wean sooner, some later. This will depend on things like availability and quality of pasture, market price of cattle and the physical condition of your cows.

Weaning on the truck means you take them right off the cow and ship to the auction. Another way is to keep them after weaning and background them. This means to keep them and feed them for a while, maybe 40 days or so to get them ready for the feedlot. Others can help you more here.

You can keep them for an extended period and feed them yourself if you want to finish them for slaughter.

When you sell at auction, take them to the sale barn and they will check them in. When their turn comes they will be run in the ring and auctioned 'sold' to the highest bidder. Buyers are sitting there and bidding against each other to buy cattle.
You will receive payment for what they sell for less commission or any other expenses charged by the auction barn.
Go to an auction on sale day if you can and watch what goes on. It may be a little confusing at first, but you will begin to understand.