My New SAV Bull

Help Support CattleToday:

YoungAngusCattle

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to raising cattle and extremely new to building an angus herd. I took over my grandfathers farm, at the age of 21, when he passed away 6 years ago and have been slowly replacing the commercial cows with purebred angus with the goal of selling seedstock and local consignment sales.

I bought my first purebred angus bull this winter from the SAV sale, I know there has been some heated discussions about SAV genetics around here but they must be doing something right to have 1500 buyers there every year. I would like some constructive criticism on my yearling bull, I am new to this and nobody really ever taught me how to select animals and I didn't have a whole lot to spend on a bull with all the infrastructure upgrades I have to do around here.

SAV President 8729
Reg # 19249619

IMG-0009.jpg

IMG-0010.jpg

IMG-0034.jpg

I'd say he's pretty darn nice and a step in the right direction. Have you thought about doing any AI?

I have been dooing AI for the last 3 years. I want to venture into the world of embryo transfers sometime soon.

Here's another photo.

President8729-2.jpg

I could not get the AAA website to bring that bull up by either name or registration #. Is there a Typo?

Btw: deep, wide. Nice bull.

Coosh71 said:
He's a solid bull YA. how old is he now

He was born 2-9-18.

I think he looks a little bit knee knocked, but not bad enough to effect the soundness of his offspring. Also his EPDs aren't the best, his CED is slightly below average and his $E and $B is slightly too low. Although these are low accuracy numbers so he might creep back toward average and I don't like to get caught up on numbers unless they are mind boggling below average or extremely high. I believe in everything in moderation is better.

Bright Raven said:
I could not get the AAA website to bring that bull up by either name or registration #. Is there a Typo?