Moving cattle and calves from cold climate to a hot one

Help Support CattleToday:

ColombianRancher

Reaction score
I am an expat living in Colombia. I am new to raising cattle here in Colombia. My question is about buying cattle and calves from a cold climate and raising them in a hot climate. Is it detrimental to the cattle or will they adjust? Does it matter what age they are? Thanks in advance

I guess it depends on the breed and how much of an extreme change it is. It can be a bit of an adjustment for them, but most become climatized with time. As long as they have adequate water and shade, I would think they would adapt to the heat. Any kind of change is typically more stressful on young calves than mature cows.

I am an expat living in Colombia. I am new to raising cattle here in Colombia. My question is about buying cattle and calves from a cold climate and raising them in a hot climate. Is it detrimental to the cattle or will they adjust? Does it matter what age they are? Thanks in advance
What breed(s) or you thinking of importing?

Sounds like a recipe for complete disaster. Always buy from people who are raising animals how you want to and, ideally, from the same or comparable region. In the US, I found that critical for such factors as adaptation to forages (especially toxic fescue) and humidity.

When Adams Ranch in Florida was crossing northern Hereford bulls with their base of Brahman and cracker cows, the bulls soon died due to mosquitoes and heat stress. They did get enough cows bred to create a new breed, the Braford. And they probably expected bulls to die; as I recall, they kept bringing them in for a while to get the numbers and percentages they needed.

We have been over 100 degrees most of the month. In November it will be single digits. Below zero in December. But the change is gradual. No would probably be better off importing semen and doing AI. That way the calves are born and raised in your climate.