Milking Teat Damaged then removed?

Help Support CattleToday:

lizziebean

Reaction score
Hello,
my name is Lizzie I'm a dairy student and id like some help from people with more experience then me on a relatively urgent matter.

there is a cow in the hospital herd at a place Ive looked at a cow shes skinny and has been reacting to the antibiotics large hard welts on her backside where the milker was told by the vet to put it and she has what i think is mastitis.
this cow was brought over after calving and had a damaged perhaps infected right rear teat the vet was called and he removed the entire teat up to the place where it meets the body of the udder. The cow is on her third lactation and calved easily. I just got back this week and the milker (who has been milking for over 30 years and has seen most ailments but not this particular one) showed me the excretions from the cut off teat, i am almost completely sure that it is mastitis and i think the cow has been producing in that quarter but it hasn't been milked because there isn't a way to milk it. dose anybody have an idea on how to get the goo out of this poor cow? is there any-thing we can buy or use to stick up there and let it just gravity down? I'm just quite clueless on this one, its just not something they teach in lecture.
(I can add pictures later if you need it)

As Ive said shes a good cow, never gives us any trouble, gets right in line for milking, produces a lot and in a barn full of first calvers its preferable to do what we can to keep her.

Thank you very much!!!

the question would be why did the vet remove the teat instead of wrapping doctoring it as you could still have used a cannula to drain it , the only time I have known to remove the teat was for gang green
mastitis, other than opening a hole in the bottom of that quarter to drain I have know idea
Suzanne

If it's mild mastitis leave it alone, she'll get over it better if you don't interfere other than using injectable antibiotics.