looking for the right breed

Help Support CattleToday:

spoon

Reaction score
After lots of searching and reading I've decided to post up anyway. :D I have found a huge amount of valuble info here but nothing that was exactly what I was looking for. I'll try to be short but I'm not good at that. :roll:
I'm looking to start a small hobby farm. I've got about 90 acre of pasture available and a good pond. Looking for a breed that will finish well on grass alone but I'll prolly pick one out to feed a little grain/corn to for our own consumption. I'm interested in raising a registered breed. I'm only looking to raise 5-10 head. While I'd like to be able to sell my excess and make some $$ that is NOT why I am doing this. I'd prefer to raise something out of the ordinary but not exotic. Also I'd like a small to medium breed that is very people friendly, i.e. easy to halter train and not skitish etc. I also don't want to sink my life savings into a small herd. I'll prolly start with 4 or 5 and build up to my 10 maximum. I've looked at Belties, Red Polls, Murray Greys, British Whites, etc. My two most important traits are easy handling and good eating. I want my grandsons to be able to pet them and maybe show them as they get older if they want to. Just looking for suggestions and experiences from others. Thanks.

Nothing will beat a hereford for temperament. Look into smaller framed thick herefords.

My second choice would be Murray Grey, do a search for OK Jeanne's posts and look at the photos she has posted. Her cattle's phenotype is perfect for what you want to do.

I have heard from people who raise galloways that they can be a little aggressive after calving, but don't have any personal experience with them.

Not sure I can tell you the best breed for you. My suggestion is you stay away from being a purebred breeder, because it sounds as if you just want a few to look at and produce a few freezer calves for yourself and local customers.