I'm new to the sale barn business. Is this the right job for me?

Help Support CattleToday:

Broncs25

Reaction score
Hello my name is matthew, I'm new to the sale barn business and I was wondering if anyone could help me be safe and possibly give me tips on how to work cattle from the trailer to the pin? This is my first official job, a few of my friends talked me into working with them out there. All I'm asking for is just some tips and how to do stuff around a business like this? So if yall could give me some tips and pointers that would be fantastic.

Just be aware of your surroundings. Always have an exit plan. Don't get in a position where you don't have an exit option (against a solid wall). Get a flag, paddle, or sorting stick so you are working cattle from several steps back giving you more time to exit and also out of range of a kick. When they are moving the right way, keep them moving. Learn to read cattle. Some bluff and some don't. That is not something that can not be taught over the internet.

what Dave said plus.... don't ever turn your back on one. Cattle at the sale barn are nervous and don't know what's going on. Most come from a nice laid back life on the farm to this chaotic place. They're gonna be a little stressed.

And PLEASE don't be one of those barn workers I've seen that thinks he has to take his sorting stick and beat the cow/calf every step it takes. If ones moving in the right direction you shouldn't have to do anything but close the gate behind them. I stopped an auction one time because the kid working the alley was taking baseball type swings at every cow that came thru. I made the barn manager bring him in the ring and I told him if I saw him hit another cow like that I would do the same to him. Almost everybody there came by and thanked me.

Remember the front shoulder is the pivot point. Too far forward and they will back up. As said some just don't obey the rules so be careful.