Ideas for changing times

Help Support CattleToday:

Starting late

Reaction score
We all are facing higher input costs. I am just starting out in this Livestock, grass, pasture, hay farming at 42 years old, Starting Late, get it. Anyway, I am trying to learn from my Granpa's generation how to farm with less $$ input and more thought for the long term. Crop rotation, resting pastures, rotational grazing, etc. all will play a role. I have also learned much from the book "Five acres and independence" written I think about 1935. I have implemented some rotational grazing, intend to harrow in the fall to distribute manure, no-tilled rye into alfalfa and clover stands theoretically to utilize the nitrogen fixed by the legumes, etc. Next year I plan to take one less cutting off each hay field to preserve some nutrients. Once I get fences up I intend to run some young feeder calves on the hay fields to put weight on the calves and restore some nutrients to the hay fields. I am considering "sub soiling" some pasture to promote drainage. I have a 1 tooth sub-soiler that will rip down to about 2 1/2 feet. I am also curious about returning to more native plants, like Big Bluestem and Indian grass here in Central IL. What ideas and or experience do you all have in this method or other methods of controlling input costs?? Some of the older members should have several ideas from times when commercial fertilizers were not relied upon as heavily as they are now.

Starting late":1q0oxmmt said: