I voted for Hillary

Help Support CattleToday:

Status
Not open for further replies.

angus9259

Reaction score
So....

I'm a 48 year old white male. I have a batchelor's degree in engineering, a master's degree in divinity, and a doctoral degree in ministry. I spent 10 years in professional ministry but have spent most of my life working in corporate America - traveling the US for the Paper Industry. Most of mine time is now spent in paper mills in Arkansas and to the south and East to Georgia. My wife is an elementary school principal at a low income school and is also white. She and I adopted a sibling group of 4 african american kids that had become wards of the court after we foster parented them for four years. They are all grown leaving me with just the 50 head of cattle to fuss with...

I voted for Hillary because I believe in compassion - for refugees, for minorities, for underprivileged, and I believe she gave the best opportunity for our country to do and be that. I realize that the burden for that compassion lay mostly with us. The risk for compassion lay with us. I get that. But I believe compassion trumps (no pun intended) everything else.

When my oldest daughter was in 3rd grade she called me over to describe to me why she was the "ugly one" in her class. She described it was because her nose was wider, her lips were bigger, her hair was kinkier and her skin was darker. That shame she will carry her whole life for her race and for being abandoned by her birth family. That is a shame many of us know nothing about. If it hadn't been for your willingness to pay taxes in support of government programs for the poor, I would not have been able to raise these four children to become the upstanding adults they are today. I want to thank you for allowing me to do that.