Homemade BBQ

Help Support CattleToday:

Commercialfarmer

Reaction score
I've never tried making my own before, maybe it was beginners luck but I think it was awesome- coca cola/habanero (except super market only had serrano). I made it to use as a mop to coat some short ribs, but it is great on everything we've tried. My domestic boss can't keep out of it. I'm pretty certain she has sneaked a few spoonfuls in the middle of the night, while up with the baby. It is warm but it wasn't so hot

If anyone is interested:

2 tbsp butter
1 onion, minced
1 red pepper, minced
1 habanero pepper (super market only had serrano with a BTU rating of 23,000 kilojoules..... I mean SHU)
5 garlic cloves, minced (only used 4)
½ cup molasses- (I didn't use. )
1 cup Coca Cola (I increased to 1 1/2 cups.)
½ cup vinegar
1½ cup brown sugar
1 tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
1 (8oz can) cup tomato paste (I went with tomato juice instead for a thinner sauce)

Instructions

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the onion, red pepper, garlic and habanero to the saucepan and saute until they are tender and beginning to caramelize, about 8 minutes.
Add the molasses, cola, brown sugar, vinegar, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Let it cook with a low rolling boil for about 10 minutes. Stir occasionally so that nothing sticks to the bottom of the saucepan.
Stir in the tomato paste and lower the heat. Let the sauce simmer for 30 minutes, stirring every few minutes.
Remove from the heat and let the sauce cool to room temperature.
Puree in a blender until smooth.

The sauce had plenty of punch for me with the substitution of a lesser pepper, I don't know if I could handle a whole habanero. But I'd at least give it my best shot.