Help me pick AI sires

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

You all know I'm new to AI and new to cattle in general. So help me pick AI sires.
2 red angus types, 2 braford types( you've seen the pictures)
1 char and 1 herf x gert. All mature cows with good udder structure. The char could be a heavier milker, the herf x is a heavy milker, the other 4 I don't know about yet.
Goals are terminal crosses with the possibility of holding back the best heifers for breeding.
Markets here prefer the angus sired calves.

If possible I'd like to stick to one line. Calving ease is a requirement, forage based over grain based,
Basically easy keeping that do well without much interference
What would you all suggest?

Several questions. Have you decided where you are going to get your semen? Is there a rep in your area or are you going to have to have it shipped?

Abs rep will be bringing the semen. The first time or 2 he is going to let me have a go at it. I'll set them up on fixed time AI, and he will be there if I can't pass the straw or to help me out.
This allows me to not have to have a tank, and also take the pressure off me

Don't really know. Since I don't have a tank, Have only talked with him via phone or email and don't have an established relationship, and the fact he's going to help me with further hands on, I'd like to buy it thru him and abs.

That sounds like you are off to a good start.
He should have a catalog of available bulls for you to look through. Call him and see if he can send you one or if it is online. We have bought semen from ABS in the past. However they no longer service our area. They usually have a pretty good line up of bulls.
The catalog will have all of the EPDs and such for each one.