Haven't been here in a long time ... but got some cows

Help Support CattleToday:

Keren

Reaction score
My little patch of earth, Perth, WA, Australia
So yeah I havent really been on CT for a long while, I've looked every now and then. Havent been doing much stuff with cattle for the last three years since shifting to the other side of the country, cattle work has been scarce, and finding time to fit it into my full time work schedule plus my goats at home is even harder. But I thought I'd come back since it seems like I now have two cows of my own, those who know me from a while back would remember that I worked as a stud groom/fitter for several people and did an awful lot of cattle showing but never owned any cows of my own. Seems like that has changed.

A week ago almost, I offered to foster some cows that came through an animal rescue organisation, looks like I am now going to adopt them. They are 9 and 7, mother and daughter, they told me they were murray greys but when I went to pick them up they were tiny, so I'm calling them Square Meaters :D

I am kicking around ideas but thinking of AI'ing them to a good carcass lowline bull for some nice vealer calves to take to the royal show here before they go in the freezer. Will probably run a friend's Dexter bull as a mop up, that could be an interesting calf if they dont take to the AI.

Tear em apart if you wish, I dont mind. I'm pretty happy with them. They are getting nice and friendly, learning to follow the grain bucket and letting me rub their necks while they eat. I'll throw a halter on them this weekend, I need them halter broken here as I dont have yards, crush etc. on this property.

Younger cow
252370_603828722963312_838981141_n.jpg

Older cow (the back end makes me cringe but apart from that they really arent too bad)

400882_603828909629960_1148907752_n.jpg

They are in pretty good condition given they are rescues and were living in sand paddocks being fed carrots, bread, apples etc.