Grass

Help Support CattleToday:

cross_7

Reaction score
I know there isn't an answer to my question but I'm going to ask anyway

On a previous topic we discussed summer stockers, nutrition, gain and etc
The guy I spoke with says he's getting 1.8# on bluestem(not sure the variety)
I have very little experience with Bermuda and someone said(novatech maybe) that stockers don't do well on it unless the fertilizer is poured to it.
The kleingrass I have the cows get fat on it until it gets mature then drops off
The kr bluestem is the last thing they eat so it may not work for light stockers.
I have no experience with any other except native and it serves a purpose just not this one.

What would be the recommended grass for summer stockers in the hot dry southwest that has good nutrition spring/summer and that will put weight on 4wt calves ?

Cross7, typically with Bermuda we get a little over 1 lb a day adg without any supplement. With 2 lbs soybean meal or cottonseed meal and 2 lbs corn you can get 2 lbs adg. Tifton 85 got 2 lbs adg with out supplement and nearly 3 lbs with the same supplement that got 2 lbs on coastal.

One thing you might look into is going to a paddock system with the stockers. Several of the dairies in my area use a high density, frequent rotation system to keep grass quality high. Kind of like using the cattle to mow the grass and the regrowth in 16 to 20 days is young , tender and higher quality. This might work to get you better gains without supplementation.

BC":1a2umaq4 said:
Cross7, typically with Bermuda we get a little over 1 lb a day adg without any supplement. With 2 lbs soybean meal or cottonseed meal and 2 lbs corn you can get 2 lbs adg. Tifton 85 got 2 lbs adg with out supplement and nearly 3 lbs with the same supplement that got 2 lbs on coastal.