FIXING TO START

Help Support CattleToday:

RICHARDL

Reaction score
I THINKIN ABOUT STARTING TO RAISE CATTLE. I NEVER HAVE BEFORE. I HAVE 15 GOOD ACRES TO DO SO. AND I WANT TO RAISE FOR BEEF & ALSO TO KEEP THE GRASS DOWN AND IF I CAN MAKE A LITTLE MONEY THAN GREAT. I KNOW I CAN'T HAVE MANY, BUT ANY IDEALS ABOUT SIZE OF HERD & A GOOD BRED TO RAISE OR ANY THING THAT WOULD HELP ME START WOULD BE GREAT.
RICHARDT

Build a place to catch them so that you can vet them when needed is the first thing you need to do. And please put the catch pin in the shade.
Then Angus Angus Angus.

The best thing that I can tell you is to read this forum.

Read all of the questions and most of the answers - ignore the banter - most of it is in good fun and entertaining

I am new to cattle as a full time business (joined father) but I've learned so much that he sometimes gets annoyed at what I've learned so quickly what has taken him a lifetime. (although I don't hold a candle to what he knows :roll: )

welcome and remember the only stupid question is the one you didn't ask ;-)

I WAS THINKIN 2 SMALL BARNS ON ON NORTH SIDE (for winter winds) AND ONE ON THE SOUTHSIDE (for summer heat) WHAT SIZE CATCH PEN ARE WE TALKIN. 30x30 OR SO. MADE OF WOOD OR WIRE OR BOTH? AND WHY ANGUS?? WHAT ABOUT FEED? GRAZING, HAY & GRAIN

There are others that can help more than me and there are old post with lots of info. But to take a stab at some of your questions;
Catch pin: With 15 acres to graze I would not try to do more than 10 pair until you see how it works for you on your place. So Make a pin that you can feed in so that they are easy to catch. 30 X 40 might do with a smaller pin on one end that you can sweep them through into an ally with a head catch at the end. Have the head catch dump out into the first pin with a gut gate so in case you miss the catch the won't get away but when you are finished with them you can let them out.