First trip to butcher....

Help Support CattleToday:

GANGGREEN

Reaction score
what do I need to know? I'll be taking a young Highland bull and a young Highland steer to the butcher next week. I've never done this before and want to make sure I don't make any mistakes or forget to ask the right questions.

Here's the set up. I've heard good and bad about the butcher (the bad came from only one person) and they have a nice website, responded quickly to an email and were polite and professional on the phone when I made an appointment. They charge $50 for a kill fee and $.40 a pound for cut and wrap in cellophane or vacuum sealing.

I don't really care for the "other parts", ie. the tongue, brain, kidneys, etc.. I might keep the liver for friends, though my family and I don't care for it. For the rest, I'd like primarily boneless steaks and roasts, the whole brisket and the rest as burger.

What am I forgetting? Any thoughts or opinions about what cuts I should definitely ask for and which I should avoid? Should the butcher pay me for the "other parts" or am I just sacrificing them if I don't want them? I'd presume the hide goes to the butcher and I can keep the horns, right?

Of course I'll go over all of this with them when I take the animals in for slaughter, I just want to prepare myself. Anyone have any thoughts for a newbie as it relates to the butchering game? Lastly, I'm curious about all the rumors you here of butchers shorting you on meat or giving you meat that didn't come from your animal. I can see an unscrupulous butcher shorting you because they could eat or sell the meat themselves but I've never understood what would motivate them to switch your meat with someone else's. Any thoughts about that scenario?

Thanks in advance.