Finding land

Help Support CattleToday:

Edgoat

Reaction score
I could use some advice in how to find land. I am in NW Louisiana, which is dominated by the Shreveport/Bossier Metro area. Anything within commuting distance is around $10,000/acre unless you buy a large tract (100 acres), which is still priced around $4000/acre. So, I am left looking for land beyond commuting distance ($2000/acre), but I have no personal knowledge or contacts in the communities. I watch internet listings and use google maps and microsoft tera server to do preliminary investigations of any property I see listed. Unfortunately, I rarely see any listings.

Any suggestions?

When we first wanted to lease land, we put an ad in the local newspaper offering a $100 reward to put us in touch with someone with land to lease in the area. It worked.

Check the Marshall, TX area. Land there is cheap. Taxes are cheap. Buy land in Marhsall School District. Hallsville district is a bit more expensive. You'll be about 40 miles from Shreveport in Harrison County.

Try Realtor.com. Primarily for residences but the site allows you to search for land and farms.

Use the "More Search Options" on the home page and "check" land and farms to have them included in your search. I found my current land (73 acres) on the site.

Regards